Tonibonoj – from my mind to the Catwalk

London Fashion Week

Posted on: September 24, 2010

I would like to say thank you to everyone who’s visited my blog since its launch on Monday and much love for your kind comments and encouragement. It’s an honour to know that you find my story inspiring and it really gives more oil to keep my wheels rolling.

This has been one hectic week, not for running from one fashion show to the other but just getting the label ready. I feel like I’ve had 2 weeks without a break for me – it’s all good. I said it before, when you find something you love, you can truly just wear yourself out at it. That said, today I needed to rest J and I’m not quite sure I got that rest.

Anyway, yesterday I did get to attend the Jalouse Fashion Rocks event, held at the very plush Mayfair night club of the same name; Jalouse. Music was live and awesome by a band called Auction for the Promise Club. The event featured four designers; Hanako Narahira, Jonathan Liang, Rajadano and Jessica Day who for me created the most memorable piece of the evening; a corset made of Lego blocks! I think my friend got a picture of it so I’ll upload once I have a copy. (Note to self; don’t attend a catwalk without a uber fast camera!!!)

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=catwalk&iid=9837596″ src=”http://view4.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/9837596/nzfw-2010-stolen/nzfw-2010-stolen.jpg?size=500&imageId=9837596″ width=”380″ height=”253″ /]

Another major event this week was meeting up with friend/adviser /business partner – meeting went fantastic! hallelujah! I think this deserves a whole post dedicated to it so I’ll do that at a later date. We all need to know what to expect and prepare for at such meetings even when you have a cordial relationship with your possible investor.

Fabrics, fabrics and even more fabrics – I have been lost in fabrics this week. I have taken photos and swatches, touched, felt and pictured the fabrics on my customers and yet undecided which ones will go in the final collection. I wonder if there is an easier way to work with fabrics. When I draw a sketch, I have an idea what the material should be but then you get to see loads of different fabric designs, material and then its pick and mix; design v fabric v colour. I know these things take time and maybe I just need to be a little more patient with myself; as I already know it’s better to get it right a little later rather than get to market quick with a whole load of stuff I’m not 100% sure about.

Fabrics: So much choice, so little time

Image: Bill Longshaw / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

One final update  for the night – my friend’s asked me to design an item for her!!! How exciting is that? My first custom-made piece, yeah! I am really looking forward to this experience, she is a beautiful woman with a fantastic figure – this will be so much fun!

And on that note, it’s good night from me!

God bless

T

Leave a comment


  • None
  • tonibonoj: Ha ha ha, glad you got me on your mind! T
  • tonibonoj: Thank you for stopping by! So you're one of those lucky in betweeners? Smart Casual ahn? Interesting comment you make about not making an effort. I'm
  • mbabazi: OOPS. i pasted you link ,silly me . http://mbabaziannet.blogspot.com/