Tonibonoj – from my mind to the Catwalk

Are you dressed/dressing to impress?

Posted on: November 23, 2010

Alison Taylor did a fantastic article for the Telegraph on dressing for work, you can read the article here:
http://fashion.telegraph.co.uk/news-features/TMG8119866/Dressed-to-impress.html

Toni Bonoj is totally about beautiful and fierce work wear for the modern woman. So you can understand my excitement at this topic. Question then is, do you dress to impress? Or you dress for comfort? In my opinion, they are not mutually exclusive qualities for your work wardrobe: you should be able to combine both.

When you look at yourself in the mirror, what do you want to see? In my head, a beautiful me, a serious woman yet approachable and of course stylish!

However if you don’t dress to impress or at least make a statement, what do you dress for?

I’m curious to hear your opinions on this guys, so don’t be shy to leave your thoughts on this. Tell us what do you do for work? What is your formal style like? Where you shop and what do you (or want to) see when u stare into those bathroom mirrors at work(ladies be honest!)

Catch you soon
T
xxx

8 Responses to "Are you dressed/dressing to impress?"

Me, I dress to impress…MYSELF. Lol! For real. I’ve got this mirror beside my door so when I’m leaving the house, I usually catch a last minute glance at myself. Some days, I go ‘wow, God is good!’, other days when I just cannot be bothered, I’m like, ‘It is well’.

I like to dress SHARP. AS in, you see me and your eyes follow me. For all the right reasons though. I hate when work/church clothes are too clingy. I love Victoria Beckham’s kinda dresses. They sit right. The high street/affordable equivalent will be Coast and Karen Millen.

I just love looking good sha not shabby or sexy nor sexless. Power dresser is the word.

I hope all this my rant makes sense sha . lol

Lol, I so get you and you know what? I think you’re going to love the Toni Bonoj collection! It can be easy to cross the trashy line at times so we gotta be careful clothing aren’t hugging all over; we just need the right attention to one or two spots!

I love where u say: ” I’ve got this mirror beside my door so when I’m leaving the house, I usually catch a last minute glance at myself. Some days, I go ‘wow, God is good!’, other days when I just cannot be bothered, I’m like, ‘It is well’.”

I’m terrible too, for normal work days early morning meant make-up during commute ha ha but yup d mirror needed a thumbs up otherwise it might b a funny one. The ladies mirror was my boss’ first visit at work too. Women!

I definitely dress for comfort these days – must be the SAHM in me :-), but occasionally I do like to dress to impress, usually on a Sunday. That’s my ‘yummy mummy’ day.

Oh darling, we all need comfort days especially when we don’t have to face the world. Just remember, we can defo mix comfort and yummy mummy; a fitted top or short skirt instead of baggies! (Here’s hoping I can adhere to my advice when the sprogs start turning up -))

Thanks for contributing!
xxx

i normally dont make an effort to dress up nicely but i usually end up looking official and nice .i have to because i have an 8 to 5 job in a pr company. i however do not wear heals or suits to work.im in between. the weekend are my days to dress up into what i want which is anything really. i also dress up to go to parties and i agre with you on comfort and dressing to impress.they are intertwined somehow.
http://www.tonibonoj.wordpress.com

OOPS. i pasted you link ,silly me .
http://mbabaziannet.blogspot.com/

Ha ha ha, glad you got me on your mind!
T

Thank you for stopping by!

So you’re one of those lucky in betweeners? Smart Casual ahn? Interesting comment you make about not making an effort. I’m curious, why? Or is it a subconscious thing of ‘happy with status quo, so no need to up the game’?

So when you go shopping for clothes, does that mean you pick anything for work or find specific items that suit tour work?

I guess I’m of the mind that we mostly care but forget that we do (if that makes sense) and if we were more conscious, we can ensure our looks defo represent our persona more -).

Thank you for joining the discussion!

See you soon
xxx
T

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • tonibonoj: Ha ha ha, glad you got me on your mind! T
  • tonibonoj: Thank you for stopping by! So you're one of those lucky in betweeners? Smart Casual ahn? Interesting comment you make about not making an effort. I'm
  • mbabazi: OOPS. i pasted you link ,silly me . http://mbabaziannet.blogspot.com/
